“One is not born a woman; one becomes o

“One is not born a woman; one becomes one” – Simone de Beauvoir

I love this idea. It goes right along, doesn’t it, with age being a good thing. What an odd idea in American culture! Complexity … enigmatic inconsistencies … even struggles with personal change.

I love it when women talk frankly, instead of Impression-Managing!

Today I was thinking about a place I worked; I was having a hard time with a family relationship (sister), at the time. To make matters worse, a training company was giving my work place a very hard time, criticizing them unfairly, and in general, competing with them; and the agent who was delivering the criticism was a former counseling client of mine!

Long story short, the company I was with then laid me off. And I have always taken it personally. I don’t admit that to most people; but when I have, it seems less “weighty”. In response (even better) I have heard similar stories of “gore” and hurt egos. (Ah, I see: I am not alone! Of course.)

Being real is such a relief. It is also a consolation, and a bridge to other people who are into personal empowerment.

Leave a Reply

